The creative class is moving in at Nordhavnen

I run to the beach every day this week. It’s a bit too crowded for me. Summer is so short here in Scandinavia. Just a month ago I had the pier to myself. Now it looks like this:

wpid-20140718_165218.jpg

The water is also too warm. Good thing I’m going to Norway in a few weeks! Give me some real ocean!

The old shipping dock at Nordhavnen is gone, and they are building apartments and offices in old industrial buildings. I made a little detour and took some pictures. The old area is a building site. Hipsters are already sipping white wine on the rusty balconies. It has been closed to the public until now.

wpid-20140718_163012.jpg

Sometimes I envy people who work in media and advertising, for their hip offices and parties.

It’s going to be exciting to see how development goes here. With some luck it will be an awesome addition to my route to the beach.

I like the idea of using industrial buildings for offices - but why do they have to dress it up to look like a bank? Those colours are so boring.

I like the idea of using industrial buildings for offices – but why do they have to dress it up to look like a bank? Those windows are so boring.

wpid-20140718_162454.jpg

wpid-20140718_162256.jpg

I want to go in there so badly, but I don't dare.

I want to go in there so badly, but I don’t dare.

wpid-20140718_162543.jpg

Yours truly.

Bye bye, industrial age.

Bye bye, industrial age.

I hope they leave some of these buildings.

I hope they leave some of these buildings.

wpid-20140718_163239.jpg

Look slike a one storey version of New Yorks red brick buildings.

Look slike a one storey version of New York’s red brick buildings.

wpid-20140718_163017.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

