Exploring Refshaleøen

refs

I ran during my lunch break today, and used a good 50 minutes running around Refshaleøen in Copenhagen. I have been longing to go running here for a while. There are old  18th century harbour buildings, bunkers from second world war, industrial buildings, lots of ruins and actually some real jungle! It was an exciting place to run, and I will definitely go there again. Some areas feel as if they are off limits, but I kept an eye out for “No trespassing” signs, and mostly the area is open to the public. It’s right on the edge of Christiania, and I’ve seen groups of young men camping in some of the deserted buildings. Christiania is mostly a nice place, but they do deal in illegal drugs, so the idea of stumbling upon some shady squatters crossed my mind.

Will definitely go again.

Leave a Reply

