A form of hedonism

Running every day isn’t about discipline. It’s a form of hedonism.

I heard Matt Fitzgerald (coach and writer) say this on Runner Academy Podcast. He might not be the first to say it, but he puts it really well. Non-runners tend to think of runners as very disciplined (uptight), but running is just a very rewarding thing in itself. Rikke Rønholt, a Danish elite runner, also talks about motivation at a very practical level:

Most people don’t organise their lives around how they look in a bathing suit. It’s just not worth rescheduling meetings for.

The main theme of her book is that each runner needs to find their own motivation and level of ambition. And, luckily, most people just aren’t vain enough to keep running for bikini season.

So out with discipline, in with motivation.

Home made ice cream barely makes it out of the churner...

Home made ice cream barely makes it out of the churner…

I am trying to drop a few kg of body fat, not by running, because that works the opposite way for me, but by eating less sugar and starch. I want to be lighter so I can run more, really. I had a good thing going with vegetables and whole grains, but since I got an ice cream maker, I’ve been eating a lot of junk.

I watched a video with the guy who wrote Wheat Belly, and although I think he comes across as a bit of a cult leader, for motivation it’s good enough. I just don’t think wheat is that bad.

Lots and lots of veggies from now on.

And hope you all stay motivated, for the right reasons.

Leave a Reply

