What is a good time for a 5k?

I have never been in love with a race distance before, but right now I think the 5000m may be it. I’ve always seen myself as the kind of runner who goes off to spend several hours in the forest with wild animals and birds and trees (maybe because I grew up skiing), but it turns out running in circles on a blue rubber track is about as fun as it gets. I feel like I improve faster at this than my other “benchmark” distances, the 10k and half marathon.

Until recently 1km intervals was my least favourite session, to the point that I never actually did them. Today I ran four 1km laps at an average of 03:35/km pace, which is OK, considering that until two months ago my PB for 1k was 04:11! I find this tempo very comfortable and easy compared to running slower, so I’m thinking I should explore this a bit more, and see if I can stretch it to 3000 or 5000 meters. As soon as I run faster than 04:30/km (about a seven minute mile) I feel like I run in a different way and I find it more enjoyable than my current “default” tempo of 5min/km.

Baby_Jogger

Baby not included

I’ve also figured out the mystery of why I’ve never passed anyone with a baby jogger in a race: Anyone who joins a race with a baby jogger is pretty dedicated to running no matter what obstacles get in their way. There’s a limit to how slow they can be. When I was maxing out the pace at the end of my first interval today I barely managed to pass one.

About the header, it’s really just a tease. But feel free to brag! My PB is 19:50. Anyone faster than 12:37.35 is really fast IMO.

3 thoughts on “What is a good time for a 5k?

  1. Intervals are my lest favorite workout, what kills me is the rest in between.
    I don’t mind doing 10km progressive, but stopping for 1 minute kills me.
    19:50 it’s a very good time for 5km

    • Thanks. I’m alternating with my wife between running and playing with my daughter at the playground. Don’t know what I’d do with the breaks otherwise. I think I’d need to do this with a buddy.

      How do you run 10k progressive? Do you increase speed at every mile/km. Sounds pretty hard. I’m terrible at keeping negative splits.

      • Intervals are essential to develop speed, but lord knows I hate it. I rather do fartlek or progressive. I usually start at a nice and easy pace, and towards the end up a minute/km or more faster.
        I’ve never had patience for warmups and little rests, I get restless.

Leave a Reply

