New 5k record, approaching round figures, and being a shopaholic by proxy

Running feels fantastic at the time. I’ve lost a few kilos this spring/summer, and it feels a lot easier to find a natural midfoot landing now. I feel that the key is to let the forefoot take as little of the blunt force as necessary when setting the foot down. More and more I think of a midfoot landing as a heel landing, except the soft bit under my fifth metatarsal lands a millisecond before the heel, taking the edge of the collision. And the foot is pretty good at adjusting this according to speed and surface. All in all running is easier on the body if I don’t carry too much extra weight. Enough nerdy stuff…

Screenshot from 2013-10-05 19:53:27I’m rapidly approaching two of my goals, both of which seemed unrealistic when I started running: 45 minutes for the 10k and 20 minutes for the 5k. I ran a 5k in 21:15 today, a new record by about 15 seconds. I ran on gravel, so I’m pretty sure I can beat it on a track soon. Being just about to break a few round figured records is a great feeling.

And I’ve started shopping running clothes like a crazy person! Not for myself, but for my wife. The latest item is this awesome reflective jacket. It looks pretty awesome and she swears she runs faster in it. It’s from H&M, and sort of a knock-off of a more expensive version from Nike. I rarely buy branded sportswear. So overpriced.

2 thoughts on “New 5k record, approaching round figures, and being a shopaholic by proxy

Leave a Reply

