Tapering

I am running a half marathon in 14 days, and my tapering curve is way off…

I have a cold, and lots of work (singing). I’s always great to have work as a freelancer, but singing with a cold is just hard work! My daughter caught a cold two weeks ago, and all I could do was wait for the bacteria to take over my body.

I always picture kindergarten bacteria as an army of little monsters knocking down the gates, one little knock at the time. When my daughter gets ill, my immune system can withstand it for a week, maybe two. But sooner or later it will give in to the cocktail of germs. It doesn’t matter, except that if I get a throat infection, I can potentially lose thousands of euros. In the music business you often don’t get paid if you can’t perform. That hasn’t happened to me yet, but the thought is scary, and sooner or later it will happen.

Back to the tapering: two weeks left to the race, and I’ve already tapered down to zero. I hope I’ll be fit to do one last long run in four days’ time, but it’s looking dark. If it doesn’t work out, I’ll just have to do some nice and easy short tempo runs and easy runs.

In the bright side, if I don’t I too well, I can PR in the New Years Race.

My weight, on the other hand, seems to taper nicely. I’m happy with my decision to quit sugar and white flour, and the truth is I don’t miss it. I still eat pizza and burgers as much as I like, just with 75% or more whole grain flour in the dough. And while I don’t eat wine gum and chocolate, I eat as much fruit and berries as I like. My weight is very slowly going down, and I’m not really working hard for it. Especially happy to get rid of the sugar cravings. Hope this lasts.

2 thoughts on “Tapering

Leave a Reply

