New 10km PB (48:17), and some chicken tagine.

It’s not that I’m training well at the moment. I think I’m just seeing the results of all the good running I did in May and June. That ridiculous long run of 39 km comes back to bite me in the… foot, and I am not running as much as I want to. But I did beat my 10km record by about three minutes. The actual running felt pretty relaxed and easy, but two things made this run a little less enjoyable:

First off i have what feels like sore muscles in my feet (feels like any other sore muscle except I have to walk on it). It’s not that it’s really painful, I just worry and it makes me feel less invincible.

Secondly my stomach was overfilled with delicious chicken tagine. Seriously, try it! I had a ready made “tagine” spice mix with some ground sesame seeds in it. Sadly I had to substitute preserved lemons with fresh lemon, but even so, the result was just fantastic. I recommend all to try this dish after a good long run.

If you don’t have an actual tagine (clay pot) just use an oven proof pot and leave it in the oven for a while. If you have an old Römertopf lying about that would be perfect.

Ingredients in the spice mix (in order of amount): Sesame seeds, dried garlic, paprika, ginger, turmeric, white pepper, cinnamon. So quite simple for a Ras el Hanout-mix. I bought this from my new favourite shop here in Copenhagen, ASA Trading. They import spices from all around the world that taste much better than the supermarket versions. Especially spice mixes are hard to find elsewhere. Usually there’s so much salt in them that I can’t taste the actual spices. ASA have a Jamaican jerk spice rub also, which is amazing. Jerk spice is made from All-spice, “Scotch bonnet” chilis and some other spices, and is the ultimate barbeque spice in my humble opinion.

3 thoughts on “New 10km PB (48:17), and some chicken tagine.

  1. First off, meal sounds great.

    Secondly, do you think the issue in your feet may be the onset of plantar fasciitis? Be sure to soak your feet in an ice bath. May help.

    Cheers!

    • Thanks. Yes that’s what I’m worried about. At least I’m pretty sure it could easily turn into PF if I run too much right now. It’s really not painful, just uncomfortable. I’ll be careful ;-)

Leave a Reply

