Moussaka

Image

Østre Anlæg is PERFECT for some pretend trail running. So glad I discovered it.

I was planning to run 21km today, with a training session with Marathonsport in the middle. Well, some 400m interval sessions killed that plan. It’s always a surprise what we’re doing, so you have to be prepared for anything. I like my little unofficial running club. Since there is no fee and no membership, people just show up when they like. This attracts a lot of dedicated runners as well as newbies. I enjoy running alone most of the time, but a bit of speed work once or twice a week is perfect and the instructors are professional coaches. I highly recommend it to all solo runners who want to mix up their training a bit.

Pulse peaked at 183, so it’s steadily climbing. I’m starting to enjoy pushing myself to the limit. Usually not my style. I’m now at 124km this month and it’s not over.

Now for the Moussaka. Feeds two hungry grown ups. My one-year old hated it. It’s just off the top of my head, so I don’t know how authentic it is, but it is very simple.

  1. Slice an eggplant or two thinly, drizzle with olive oil and bake in the oven for 20 minutes.
  2. Add to a hot pan: Olive oil, 1 onion, some garlic cloves, 200g ground beef (really should be lamb or better: goat), 4 tomatoes, some thyme, black pepper, cinnamon, salt and let it simmer.
  3. Cut a couple of potatoes into thin slices. I don’t know how Greek this is, but it adds some texture to the dish.
  4. Bechamel: Warm up some butter in a pot, mix very even with a spoonful of flour, gradually mix in a cup or two of milk, then a pinch of nutmeg, white pepper and salt. If you get the butter/flour mix right, any lumps will even out with cooking. Simmer until slightly thick.
  5. Now just make layers of eggplant, red sauce, potato, white sauce. Top with some of the sliced potato and cheese, bake in the oven for 35 minutes (depends on how deep your casserole is.)

Opa!

Leave a Reply

